Skip to content

Beyond the Quad welcomes its newest contributor–Val!

October 14, 2013

val koulikova

[Photo courtesy of Valeria Koulikova]

Hello readers! My name is Valeria and I am excited to introduce myself as your new Beyond the Quad contributor. I’m going into my last year of undergrad at the UW, majoring in Journalism with a minor in Political Science. Since entering my major last year, I have been enjoying my classes, challenging myself to go out of my comfort zone, and learning all the skills that I plan on using in my future career as a journalist. My goal is to someday become an international reporter or work at an international publication.

I’m proud to say that I’ve contributed to the Seattle Globalist, reporting on all things international, covered the 39th Seattle International Film Festival for Queen Anne and Magnolia news, and interned at RT.com over the summer, writing news stories for the TV show Prime Time Russia.

Whenever there is space between required courses, I jump after cinema and arts courses such as Film History and Photography since I can never get enough of learning more about my favorite arts. In my spare time, I love catching up on (way too many) TV shows, brushing up on my Russian by reading classical novels, attending rock concerts, mastering cooking, and getting together with my friends.

I look forward to sharing my senior year experience at the College of Arts & Sciences with our lovely readers and I hope you enjoy the ride with me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

