Skip to content

Getting Ready for the Holidays!

November 21, 2012

It’s that time of year again! Get ready to be bombarded with friends, family, and lots of cooking!  

The arrival of Thanksgiving is always a time of great anticipation.  If you are a student like me, Thanksgiving break is as much about celebration as a time to catch up on homework, reading, and lots of sleep. My plan is to be as productive as possible this holiday season (hopefully) and try not to stress too much about the finals lurking right around the corner.

But thinking about homework is the least of my worries this holiday break. Thanksgiving is a time to be grateful for the many opportunities received, family I haven’t seen in a while, and really just the beauty of everyday life! Taking the time to reflect on the passing year and acknowledging what I’m thankful for may be the most beneficial part.

With my first quarter as a freshman winding down, I will take the time this Thanksgiving to appreciate my experiences at the UW so far. I am grateful for being able to attend the UW and truly immerse myself in my studies and extracurricular activities. I am glad for the many friendships I have made, and the professors who have expanded my thinking. I have learned new ideas about topics that range from modern literature, to literary criticism, to the history of Jewish assimilation into German society. I have discovered what it is like to be part of a college classroom and enhance my critical thinking skills. But perhaps more than anything, I’m grateful for the challenge and rewards of adapting to change in itself.  I’ve experienced some amazing things already, and it’s only the first quarter.  Change is necessary and has allowed me to grow as a person.

So no matter if you are a student, have a full time job, or are somewhere in between, be joyous this time of year and watch, your good spirits will rub off on everyone else!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2013 4:33 am

    Again a very good blog, before a hour, i found your another blog “the pursuit of happiness” it was very good and now this one is really very good, i am going to find out your older blogs .. and looking for your new one.:-)

  2. April 16, 2013 3:29 pm

    This site was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I
    have found something which helped me. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

