Skip to content

Confessions of a Transfer Student: New Dawg on Campus

December 1, 2011

 Hey Huskies, what’s up? This is Kiley Levingston, blogging to you live from the Communications building. I’m the newest addition to the Arts & Sciences blogging team and a new junior on campus, just trying to survive these last few weeks of fall quarter. I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels this way—going to school in the dark and coming home in the dark? Who does that? Oh wait, we do. Anyways, A&S asked me to do a quick intro post so we can get to know each other better, so here’s some random, vaguely interesting information about me:

I do a lot of the important life stuff backwards. Call it a “fun” little personality quirk. Some students take a gap year when they graduate high school; I like to joke that I took a gap decade. I went straight into the work force instead of going to college, and spent most of my time working in higher education and community services. I’ve worked at three different institutions, including Highline CC, Tacoma CC, and (where else?) UW. After spending years guiding high school and college students on their educational career paths, I decided it was time to continue mine. Now I’m here. Ta-da!

I write novels in my spare time. That’s actually a slight misnomer, as it implies that I have spare time (right) and that spare time is the only time I write (also not true). I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was a child, and I’ve been writing seriously for the last seven years. I love it. I can talk about it all day long (and I do, on my blog). However, writing is an odd career that doesn’t necessarily require a degree to be successful, so what’s a girl to do? Hey, maybe I’ll write a blog post about that…

I know exactly what I’m doing, except, you know, I don’t. One of the odd things about being a transfer student is that most of the steps are the same but the process is just a little bit different. I can cross-check my degree audit and plan out my pre-reqs, but I’m still having a hard time finding my place on campus and meeting new people. The opportunities on campus are endless, and at times it’s a bit overwhelming. I’m looking forward to meeting more people in and out of class and hopefully here, on the blog. Have a question? Want to commiserate? Drop me a line at kalevin@uw.edu.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

